Want to receive updates on upcoming events and news at the Mary Abbott Children's House?

Upcoming Events

Our Events

Wayne Martin Memorial Award

The Wayne Martin Memorial Award is named for Detective Wayne Martin, a 27-year veteran of the Norman Police Department who spent the last 10 years of his career working cases with juvenile victims and suspects. Detective Martin truly cared about children, their welfare, and their quality of life. Following his tragic death in the 2002 Arkansas River bridge disaster, this award was created to honor his memory and recognize others who have demonstrated similar commitment to the children of Cleveland County. Each year Abbott House presents this award at the Norman Crime Stoppers Committee’s Public Safety Awards Banquet.


Wayne Martin Memorial Award Recipients
2017Judge Stephen BonnerJudgeCleveland County
2016Dr. Mary Abbott (1931-2004)PediatricianNorman Community
2015Detective John StegeInvestigatorNorman Police Department
2014Detective David FreudigerInvestigatorNorman Police Department
2013Teresa CappsDirector of Children and Family ServicesCentral Oklahoma Community Mental Health Center
2012Kay ChristiansenExecutive DirectorBethesda, Inc.
2011Sgt. Jennifer NewellInvestigatorNorman Police Department
2010Jeannine H. BakerExecutive DirectorMary Abbott Children's House
2009Jennifer AustinAssistant District AttorneyDistrict Attorney's Office
2009Christy MillerAssistant District AttorneyDistrict Attorney's Office
2009James SideriasAssistant District AttorneyDistrict Attorney's Office
2009Susan CaswellAssistant District AttorneyDistrict Attorney's Office
2008Rhett BurnettInvestigatorDistrict Attorney's Office
2007Mecca MorganChild Protective Services WorkerDepartment of Human Services
2006Fran Watson RobersonClinical DirectorCenter for Children and Families
2005Detective Jose ChavezInvestigatorNorman Police Department
2005Detective Tony RiddlesInvestigatorNorman Police Department
2004Charlie MasonPrincipalNorman Public Schools
HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com